More Ice Cream

If you didn’t believe me about the fact that I love ice cream, here’s another post about ice cream, but this will be the last one for now as some of you might want to know more about the Finger Lakes than just great places for ice cream.  For this post I am going to touch on two ice cream shops that are within minutes of each other, at the north end of Canandaigua Lake.

Cheshire Farms Creamery

Cheshire Farms Creamery  is a relatively new ice cream shop in Canandaigua. You can walk to it from Kershaw Park or the boat launch. Or it is a super quick drive. Most people that I know refer to it just as “The Creamery” so that is how I will refer to it here as well. I knew I would like The Creamery when I walked in for the first time and saw the sign that says “Things to do today: Wake up, eat ice cream, take nap, repeat.”

cheshire-farms

The Creamery offers a variety of homemade ice cream flavors and homemade waffle cones as well. They also have other baked goods and some days have lunch specials. My favorite flavor is their Sweet Cream and Cookies, but a lot of people like their Banana flavor and peanut butter flavor as well.

There was a night this summer that my friends and I went 4 out of 5 nights one week. And each time we would get there about 15 minutes before closing but they are super flexible and usually let you hang around to finish your ice cream while they are cleaning up for the day.

Abbotts

abbotts

Abbotts’ are located in a few different spots in the Finger Lakes Region, but I prefer to go to the one in Canandaigua, probably because that is the closest one to me. Abbotts  serves frozen custard. They usually only offer a few flavors, but if you are satisfied with just vanilla or chocolate or chocolate almond, then I highly recommend Abbotts. They have a variety of toppings and sundaes and ice cream sandwiches that they make that you can also choose from as well. My favorite of their flavors is actually their vanilla, but I jump on top of getting black raspberry when it is offered. Because their ice cream is mostly frozen custard, it can get a little messy as it melts faster than regular hard ice cream in the hot summer sun. Abbotts has a convenient drive thru window so you don’t even have to go inside to get your ice cream. When I drive through I usually get my ice cream and drive a block over to park at Kershaw and people watch by the lake as I eat my ice cream. If I decide to stay and eat my ice cream at Abbotts, I like to find a bench and watch the wakeboarders go around Muar Lake at the Roseland Wake Park.

 

Leave a Reply

