Home

So many of you will ask…how are you writing this while you aren’t even in the Finger Lakes, and are so far from home?

And to be honest I actually thought that writing a blog about the Finger Lakes while not actually being in the Finger Lakes would be pretty hard. But so far it really hasn’t been, and it has given me a chance to look back at old memories, reminisce and make the most of weekends that I do get to spend back home. I think I am able to bring even more to the table now that I have gone away and come back.

I think that being away from the Finger Lakes actually gives me an even better prospective on it. Throughout high school I vividly remember hearing people talk about how much they couldn’t wait to leave the area, but I really didn’t understand why. Now that I look back, I don’t think that it is because of the actual area and the things that there are to do, I think it was mostly just because they hated high school. One of my good friends said it best when she said something to the effect of, “I don’t understand why people can’t wait to get out of this place, when it is truly one of the most beautiful places on Earth.” Once I got to college I met people and they saw pictures from back home and were stunned by the beauty of the area. I had taken for granted the place I had called home for my entire life.

I don’t think that there will ever come a time when I am away from the Finger Lakes and don’t miss it at all. Even if it is just a little, I know I will miss it. Now that doesn’t mean that I think that I will spend the rest of my life in the Finger Lakes. I love to travel and explore new cities, and I definitely can see myself living in a city other than those in the Finger Lakes Region. What I don’t see is me moving away from the Finger Lakes and never coming back ever, even if it is just to visit. The majority of my life has been spent in the Finger Lakes and I really consider it home even if I have been away living in a different city while at school for the past 3 years. A particular quote popped into my head while I was writing this and it is a lyric from Tim McGraw that states “Chase your dreams but always know the road that’ll lead you home again.” I will always remember where I came from and be proud of it and make sure I find my way back.

Leave a Reply

