Conesus Lake

Conesus Lake is another of the Finger Lakes that I came to know as I was growing up. My aunt and uncle have a cottage on the west side of Conesus and any chance I get to spend time at the cottage I am sure to take advantage of. The 3rd of July is one of my favorite days of the year as it is the day that everyone around the lake celebrates America’s birthday with cookouts, water fun, fireworks and a ring of fire. Usually the day results in a pretty wicked sunburn, but a day of family and fun is all worth it.

I have always loved Conesus Lake and have valued my time spent on it. I remember in third grade I had to write a thank you letter to someone and I knew right away that I wanted to write it to my aunt and uncle thanking them for always welcoming me into their cottage and encouraging my lake activities. It is something that I will forever be thankful for as being on the lake is my favorite activity in the summer.

098
I wish I still had a cool Conesus Lake sweatshirt

 

Conesus Lake is where I learned to kneeboard, waterski, and paddleboard. Next up will be wake surfing! I also learned how to drive a jet ski on Conesus Lake. I perfected my tubing skills and have spent more time being dragged and whipped around that lake on a tube than most can imagine. I find it to be one of the most fun things ever. I find myself laughing hysterically even if I am about to be thrown off and be sore for the next 24 hours. Multiple times we got 4 tubes with 2 people on each tube and had an epic bumper tubing ride. Tubing is something that almost anyone can do, from age 4-60 and above. Oftentimes my dad and aunt and uncles like to get out on the tube to try to show us up.

img_3879

Conesus Lake is the farthest west of the Finger Lakes and is located about 25 miles south of Rochester in Livingston County. It is pronounced kuh-NEE-shus. It is one of the smaller lakes with a maximum depth of 66 feet and is 8 miles long.

A popular restaurant and bar on the lake is The Beachcomber on west lake road. The Three Legged Pig BBQ is a very good BBQ restaurant not far from the lake in Lakeville at the north end of the lake. The Lakeville Family Restaurant is also a hot spot for breakfast among locals. Another place not too far from the lake for food or fun is Minnehans Fun Center where there are go karts, mini golf, an arcade and a restaurant. Visit their website for more information.  http://minnehansgokart.com/

One of the little known things about Conesus Lake is that if you drive along West Lake Road in the summer, just past Long Point Park, there is a beautiful flower garden along the side of the road that a resident maintains. Long Point Park is on the west side of the lake and offers picnic areas, a playground, a pavilion and a guarded beach during the summer season.

Leave a Reply

