Here Goes Nothing

A little bit about this blog… I will be honest, this is an assignment for a class that I need to take as a requirement for graduation in order to complete my communication minor. This is my first blog post. Ever. Before coming into the class I had no desire to create a blog and it had never crossed my mind to ever start one.  As this is an assignment for class, naturally I put it off to the last minute. I had no idea what I wanted my blog to be about, how I wanted it to look, and no desire to take 3 hours out of my busy day to work on it and to play with the platform I used to publish it. But instead of complaining about the assignment and wishing I never had to take the class, I look at it as an opportunity to express my creativity and share my passion for the place I have called home for the last 21 years.

 The Finger Lakes Region is located in beautiful Upstate New York. I would even argue the lakes are what really makes upstate beautiful. Yes they are in New York, but they are between 4.5-7 hours from NYC via bus or car. There are 11 lakes that make up the Finger Lakes Region. Throughout the region there are various things to do and places to eat. There are waterfalls and hiking trails and lots of outdoor activities for the adventurous outdoorsperson. The Finger Lakes range in length and depth, but all are naturally formed. Children who grow up in the region learn about the lakes at a young age. We are taught both the Native American story of how the lakes were formed, as well as the geological one. Native Americans believe that the creator reached down to bless the land and carved out the Finger Lakes with his hand. An aerial view of the Finger Lakes looks a lot like a hand. The scientific explanation for the Finger Lakes is that as the last ice age ended, glaciers moved across the area gouged large holes into the ground as they moved which later became the Finger Lakes. No matter which story you believe, the Finger Lakes are a beautiful region of New York to explore, and arguably one of the most beautiful regions of the United States.

A little background on the lakes…

From East to West the lakes are: Otisco Lake, Skaneateles Lake, Owasco Lake, Cayuga Lake, Seneca Lake, Keuka Lake, Canandaigua Lake, Honeoye Lake, Canadice Lake, Hemlock Lake, and Conesus Lake. Cayuga Lake is the longest of the Finger Lakes, while Seneca is the deepest and largest. Keuka stands out due to its wishbone shape, and Canadice is the smallest of the lakes.

Each post will include give a glimpse into life in, on and around the Finger Lakes.

 For more detailed information about the Finger Lakes History, visit http://www.fingerlakes.org/about-the-region/lake-information

Leave a Reply

